Uni Experience so Far

When it came to choosing which University to go to, I looked in to ones close by, and then realised that I wanted to move away, and start fresh in a different city. I am originally from Manchester, which is a fairly big city, and I wanted to move somewhere smaller. Sheffield Hallam peaked my interest straight away, the city, the course and the night life. Obviously the most important aspect when it comes to picking a university, is the course itself, but you have to like the location as well!

Before moving I really didn’t know what to expect, I was worried, excited, anxious and stressed all at the same time. Knowing that I will be in a new city on my own was a huge deal. My parents made my transition easy with helping me out both mentally and financially. They stayed very calm, even when I was being over-dramatic. My number one fear was the thought of not making any friends, which is weird because since being here I’ve realised its harder to not make friends! I instantly clicked with my flat mates and although I’m still yet to get to know my course mates, the ones I have met so far seem friendly !

What I was most looking forward to was probably freshers week. It ended up being a great week but not what I expected. I guarantee one mistake every fresher makes is buying tickets to everything, because trust me you won’t be up for going to every event haha. I think I went to about 2-3 out of the 6 I had planned. Obviously I was looking forward to a lot more than freshers week. I was also looking forward to starting my course and exploring the city.

I was very nervous about the moving process, as I’ve always lived with my parents and brothers. The first week was very nerve racking and I ended up going home for a few days because of how scared I was, but once I came back I instantly settled in, and had a night out with my flat mates (always a good way to break the ice). It was a waste of time and energy for me to get so stressed out about coming to university, because right now I feel completely at home.

University life has exceeded my expectations already, and it’s only the beginning. I’m so excited about what is to come.

Kirstie Norman (journalism student at SHU)

Leave a Reply

